Insurance Requirements for Maryland Vehicles
Did you know Maryland is a mandatory insurance state? What does this mean for you?
1. All Maryland vehicles must be insured by an insurance company licensed in Maryland. Your insurance must cover, at a minimum:
- $30,000 for bodily injury $60,000 for 2 or more people $15,000 property damage
2. Return your license plates to any MVA before you cancel your insurance. Please note: tag and title companies will charge a fee for this service.
3. If you have moved out of state and did not return your license plates, it is important for you to notify us and provide the following information:
- Copy of registration from the current state in which the vehicle is currently titled Date the vehicle was titled in the current state Maryland tag and title number If you have not yet titled your vehicle out of state, you must have your insurance company provide us with policy information detailing the effective and termination dates.
4. If you have moved to Maryland and are continuing auto insurance coverage from your previous state of residence, you will need to contact your insurance company or agent letting them know you need to convert your policy to a Maryland policy. Note: Most insurance companies are licensed in Maryland
FINES AND PENALTIES FOR DRIVING UNINSURED
- $150 fine for first 30 days and $7 for each additional day, up to an annual maximum of $2500 per vehicle. Your registration will be suspended; if you drive with a suspended registration, your vehicle may be impounded and you may be ticketed and/or fined. Failure to respond to MVA insurance notifications will result in your case being transferred to the Central Collections Unit (CCU). Once your case is sent to CCU, fines are subject to a 17% collection fee and your income tax return may be intercepted.
REMEMBER: IT IS AGAINST THE LAW TO DRIVE UNINSURED!
Here are the facts about insurance needs for vehicles in the State of Maryland.