#ohio auto insurance
Ohio Car Insurance
When you need general information about Ohio auto insurance or want to compare car insurance quotes to see if you are getting the best rate, Insurance.com’s Ohio Car Insurance Resource Center can help you quickly and easily find the facts you need. Just tell us where you’d like to start:
Essential Car Insurance Basics and Laws in Ohio
Ohio has a traditional, fault-based system for auto insurance. Like almost all states, Ohio requires all drivers to have some form of insurance. Failure to maintain proper car insurance coverage can result in penalties and fines. Find out all you need to know below.
Ohio Auto Insurance Legal Minimum Limits: 25/50/25
Drivers who purchase insurance are required to maintain the Ohio state minimum auto insurance liability limits of 25/50/25. That means you need a car insurance policy that agrees to pay others at least $25,000 per person for bodily injury, up to a total of $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage. Use our auto insurance coverage calculator to determine the right amount of coverage for you.
Keep in mind that these are the absolute minimum limits required by law, they are very average, so they offer you some protection, but not a lot. If you have assets or a job, you probably need higher limits, because an accident you cause can easily cost you more than your insurance will cover. If your limits are exceeded, you are the one looked to pay personally for any outstanding expenses.
Ohio Car Insurance Coverages
Required. Bodily injury and property damage liability
Optional medical coverages. Medical payments (MedPay), uninsured motorist bodily injury and underinsured motorist bodily injury
Optional physical damage coverages: Uninsured motorist property damage, comprehensive and collision coverage.
Additional. Gap coverage, towing and labor, roadside assistance, and rental reimbursement.
If you have collision coverage, uninsured motorist property damage is not needed. Even though the state does not require you to carry comprehensive and collision coverage if you finance or lease a car your lender will require these coverages.
Car Insurance Rate Changes
After your driving record, claim and credit history are verified using consumer reports, your policy will be issued. Your insurance rates can only change at renewal, once an insurance company issues a policy. Your renewal rate can go up or down based on any of the factors the company is allowed to consider. The auto insurance company can’t raise your rate due to a single accident for which you were not at fault and were not found guilty in court.
Discounts in Ohio
Discounts typically vary by insurer; however, Ohio does require all insurers to offer one certain discount.
Ohio has a mandatory discount for drivers over 60 with good driving records that have taken a state-approved accident prevention course and submitted proof to their insurance company. The discount is good for three years and can be renewed if you take the class again in three years.
The law permits every company to set its own senior discount, so it can be anywhere from 2 percent to 15 percent. The discount is only off of the liability portion of the premium.
Most companies will apply a good student discount whenever the student earns a B average. And, multi-car or multi-policy discounts are available whenever you are qualified.
Auto Insurance Cancellation Laws
For the first 89 days, your insurance company can cancel the policy for almost any reason. This gives the company time to verify the information on your insurance application. As of the 90 th day, your liability coverage is protected from cancellation for two years, subject to a few conditions, such as you paying your premiums on time and maintaining your driver’s license in good standing.
If the insurance company believes you have violated these conditions, they must notify you at least 30 days in advance of the intended cancellation. If you fail to pay the premium on time, they must give only 10 days’ notice of cancellation.
You can cancel your policy at any time by providing your car insurance company with written notice of your intent to cancel, or by returning your policy to them, although we would recommend providing written notice. They are required to return the unused portion of your premium, if any, but they may also charge a “short rate” penalty or cancellation fee.
Additional Auto Insurance Information for Ohio
Ohio Laws on Credit Use
Auto insurance companies in Ohio are allowed to use your credit history or “insurance score” when setting rates. However, they may not use credit as the sole factor that determines the price of a policy, whether the policy is issued, or any other negative action. You policy will include specific information about how you can learn about the effect of credit on your rate, if any.
Auto Insurance System: Ohio Overview
Ohio uses a traditional tort liability system with a comparative negligence law. If you are involved in an accident, the law and insurance companies will determine who’s at fault for the accident, and by how much. After that, the insurance company of the at-fault driver should pay the people who were injured. The amount the company pays is based on the amount of damage and injury done by their driver, minus an amount of the total equal to the percentage of fault charged to the other people.
Ohio Financial Responsibility Requirements
Ohio law states that you must be able to pay for injuries to people or property damage you cause. Most people accomplish this by purchasing a car insurance policy but Ohio also allows one to show financial responsibility by showing:
– A $30,000 bond issued by an authorized surety or insurance company.
– A certificate of bond issued by the BMV, after proper application and approval, in the amount of $30,000 signed by two individuals who own real estate having equity of at least $60,000.
– A certificate of self-insurance issued by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) to those with more than 25 motor vehicles registered in their name or a company’s name.
Ohio requires you to prove you meet the financial responsibility requirements whenever a police officer requests it during a traffic stop or accident, when appearing in court for a traffic violation, and when requested by the BMV via their random verification procedures.
The Ohio BMV randomly selects 5 percent of registered vehicle owners and mails a letter asking for proof of insurance. If you get one, you have 21 days to send proof that you were insured on the day they sent the letter.
Insurance Penalties and Fines in Ohio
Failure to comply with these requirements can lead to fines, license suspension, license plate and registration suspension, vehicle and license plate impound, and more. It can also lead to the requirement of an SR-22 filing or bond.
Additional Car Resources
Accidents happen and cars break down. It’s a fact of life. If you need to find a mechanic or understand your options for a totaled car, we have you covered. Learn more: